top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedavidcarew19

Agency attribution is part of being human

Updated: Jul 17, 2020

To help understand what distinguishes object behavior from agent behavior,

imagine a falling leaf that weaves back and forth in the air following the

laws of physics. Although it is in motion, that motion is not voluntary so we

call the leaf an object. If a butterfly appears in the scene, however, and

the leaf suddenly moves in close proximity to the butterfly, maintaining that

proximity even as the butterfly continues to move, we would immediately say

the leaf had “seen” the butterfly, and that the leaf was “following” it.

In fact, neuroscientists have found that NOT attributing intentionality to

similar examples of "only apparently" goal-directed behavior can be an indication

of a social disorder. A bias to agency attribution is normal and human.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

There are Three...

There are 3 Dave Carew's in my life: There is the one I try not to be, the one I wish I was, and the one that I actually am. Occasionally (always) I find it in my heart to wish that the one I am, was

HTML+JS for a Blackjack Basic Strategy Drill App

<html> <!-- Bstr-Ref-Drill-v7.html This one-page, self-contained BlackJack learning HTML with embeddedded JavaScript is copyright � David Carew, 2008. It is associated with the book authored by David

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page