top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedavidcarew19

How do you get over jealousy of your fellow actors?

Updated: Apr 5, 2023

Believe it or not, I recently got an "ask to answer" the above question on Quora.com, my favorite time-waster, social media website. This was apparently occasioned by the fact that I have said (on Quora) that I had brief experiences with live stage acting in college, including one "professional" play which counted toward one getting a SAG/AFTRA union card. OTOH I was literally a spear-carrier (guard) in that play. "The Lark", it was, a historical play about the life of Joan of Arc... I had one line, but a fellow spear-carrier, who was a more serious, "career" actor than me, asked if we could trade positions, so that he could have that precious line. I allowed this, figuring that he "needed" it more, so to speak.


ANYWAY, I am going to record my answer to the title question here, a thing I now do quite rarely, mostly because of the overlap in readership (my Quora to here). This answer has a compliment to my wife, that bears repeating:


<quote><indent>

Shucks, I have never been “jealous” of my fellow actors. They seem to be all of them mooks, pretty much “just like me”, who are struggling through lives of “quiet desperation” as we all do.

AND I am arrogant enough to believe that I had a better “day job” than they could ever get and/or do; that of software engineering.

AND I suffer from a verifiable delusion (or more accurately from the simple truth), that no one could possibly have a better life mate and companion than I do: Susan Kay Carew is an astounding person, who has amazed me on a daily basis for nigh to fifty years, and continues to do so, effortlessly. It is truly difficult to be jealous of anyone for any reason, while you are genuinely convinced that you are the luckiest man alive on the face of planet Earth.


It is easy to count one’s blessings, when you don’t have count very high, or look very far.

</indent></quote>

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

HTML+JS for a Blackjack Basic Strategy Drill App

<html> <!-- Bstr-Ref-Drill-v7.html This one-page, self-contained BlackJack learning HTML with embeddedded JavaScript is copyright � David Carew, 2008. It is associated with the book authored by David

After You have Weathered the Storm...

You won't be the same person you were before the storm. From certain perspectives, this could be precisely what the storm was all about.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page