top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedavidcarew19

Short Treatise on the Power of Religion

Updated: Sep 12, 2021

David Spangler is (to me) an extremely minor "prophet" but he is widely recognized as one of the founders of modern "New Age" esoteric religious philosophy. For example, you might wish to read his Wikipedia entry:

He has spent a good deal of time updating and modernizing Alice Bailey (my characterization) and other esoteric philosophers of note from early and mid- twentieth century. He has started a couple of "non-profit New Age" organizations: the Lorian Association and the Lindisfarne Association, both are non-profit organizations dedicated to New Age arcana. He is still on the board for these organizations, and lists himself a "Director" of Lorian. Lately he has been critical of "New Age". He now favors something he calls "Incarnational Spirituality", that is (by his account) less obscure, less metaphysical, and less commercial than "New Age theosophy".


As a matter of simple curiosity, because he is (as I am) a bit past retirement age, and because I noticed that one other prominent proponent of New Age arcana, namely Benjamin Creme, had died in the years since I last checked in via Google query; I did a query regarding Mr. Spangler's net worth:



I was quite astonished when the following popped up (exact cut-n-paste quote follows):


David Spangler Net Worth

How rich is David Spangler? For this question we spent 28 hours on research (Wikipedia, YouTube, we read books in libraries, etc) to review the post.

The main source of income: Celebrities Total Net Worth at the moment 2021 year – is about $244,7 Million.


WOWser. Close to a quarter of a billion dollars net worth is quite a number, for one who has been publicly critical of how "commercial" other New Age practices are, and one who started from "nothing" and would not put himself forward as entrepreneurial and financially successful even today. It is also of note (I believe) that David Spangler's main source of income is listed as: "Celebrities". Say what?


I remember a quote from Robert Heinlein that goes something like this:


"The most preposterous notion that homo-sapiens ever dreamed up is that the Lord God of Creation, Shaper and Ruler of all the universes, wants the saccharine adoration of his creatures, can be swayed by their prayers, and becomes petulant if he does not receive this flattery. Yet this absurd fantasy, without a shred of evidence to bolster it, pays all the expenses of the oldest, largest, and least productive industry in all of history."


I thought I was sophisticated; a "man of the world" and a man of reality when I agreed with that quote. I had no idea what some in that "oldest, largest" industry were up to. I was naive in the extreme. What a wonderful "engine of truth" the internet and a good search engine can be.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

There are Three...

There are 3 Dave Carew's in my life: There is the one I try not to be, the one I wish I was, and the one that I actually am. Occasionally (always) I find it in my heart to wish that the one I am, was

HTML+JS for a Blackjack Basic Strategy Drill App

<html> <!-- Bstr-Ref-Drill-v7.html This one-page, self-contained BlackJack learning HTML with embeddedded JavaScript is copyright � David Carew, 2008. It is associated with the book authored by David

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page