top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedavidcarew19

The Dawn of Everything - Human History Re-imagined

Updated: Jan 21, 2022


David Graeber was a genius who died recently, suddenly, and prematurely at age 59. As a left-wing, proto-revolutionary professor, he was not someone whom I would be inclined to agree with and support. OTOH, his ideas change and upend the typical historical world-view of human civilization. As a review and recap here is a summary of conventional historiography from the article URL'd above:


David Graeber's ideas upend the world-view above, pretty much totally. I don't like left-wing politics, but I do like and respect new ideas that could change our world-view, even if (as in this case) such ideas portend the end to systems I like and need in order to sustain life during retirement. Here is another URL for an article, that illustrates how even recent history can be re-imagined in ways that may predict unexpected outcomes:



In this article, Graeber imagines potential outcomes of a revolution in "common sense"

He makes use of facts like the one above, that are true by common sense introspection, but somehow surprising anyway. He as written several books, other than the one cited above. Notably one such is: "Debt : the first 5,000 years" ISBN: 9781612194196 (softcover)1612194192 Another is: "Bullshit Jobs" / David Graeber. ISBN: 9781501143311 150114331X New York : Simon & Schuster, 2018.


His ideas are left-wing, Utopian, impractical, but (amazingly to me) plausible and potentially workable. Capitalism and things like debt are human constructs, subject to re-imagining and change. Some such re-imaginings and changes are so "revolutionary" that the outcomes for human history are just not really predictable, or (perhaps more precisely) are subject to widely varying predictions and scenarios (imaginings) depending upon one's view of basic human nature.


Fascinating stuff. Dip your toe in and see what you think, or actually dip your mind in and be ready to have it changed. NOTE: I have myself just encountered Graeber, and have not in fact "done all my homework" on this completely and beforehand, as perhaps I "should have".

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

There are Three...

There are 3 Dave Carew's in my life: There is the one I try not to be, the one I wish I was, and the one that I actually am. Occasionally (always) I find it in my heart to wish that the one I am, was

HTML+JS for a Blackjack Basic Strategy Drill App

<html> <!-- Bstr-Ref-Drill-v7.html This one-page, self-contained BlackJack learning HTML with embeddedded JavaScript is copyright � David Carew, 2008. It is associated with the book authored by David

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page