top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedavidcarew19

Wimachtendienk Wingolauksik Wittahemaway

Updated: Aug 12, 2022

The above (title of this post) is purported to mean “Brotherhood of Cheerful Service” in the language of the Lenni Lenape, an indigenous Amerindian tribe. It is the "secret" name, or perhaps non-public name is more accurate, for the Order of the Arrow, an honor society of the Boy Scouts of America.


I am actually and truly proud of very few things that I have accomplished in my time on this Earth, but the fact that I earned the rank of Eagle Scout and attained Brotherhood membership in Scouting's Order of the Arrow are two of those things. I suppose that OA's "ordeal" has been watered down compared to what it was in my day, but still and even so, my claim to have been an exemplary young man largely hinges on those two accomplishments.


I may have done lots of honorable and perhaps even some remarkable stuff before I retired, but mostly it could be argued that a man of my talents could have done (should have done) much more-- perhaps even much, much more. To which I reply (within myself) that I was (I am) an Eagle Scout, an honor student, and a Brotherhood member in the Order of the Arrow.


I still have my sash.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

There are Three...

There are 3 Dave Carew's in my life: There is the one I try not to be, the one I wish I was, and the one that I actually am. Occasionally (always) I find it in my heart to wish that the one I am, was

HTML+JS for a Blackjack Basic Strategy Drill App

<html> <!-- Bstr-Ref-Drill-v7.html This one-page, self-contained BlackJack learning HTML with embeddedded JavaScript is copyright � David Carew, 2008. It is associated with the book authored by David

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page